Call now

Colorado Springs Hit and Run Lawyer

2022 Winner - Best of the Springs
Lawyer of the Year - American Institute of Legal Professionals
Colorado Bar Association
Top 40 The National Trial Lawyers
Top 100 The National Trial Lawyers
AVVO 10.0 Superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense

Castle Rock Hit and Run Attorney

Google Reviews
divider

Facing hit-and-run charges in Colorado Springs? Take a deep breath. You have rights.

Though the legal waters may seem murky, experienced guidance can help you navigate them.
The team at Right Law Group has defended countless hit-and-run cases. We know how to protect your future.

Leaving an accident scene, commonly called hit and run, brings serious penalties.

Fines. Jail time. License suspension. Felony charges, even.

The weight of it all can feel crushing. But don’t lose hope. With knowledge comes power. Arm yourself with an understanding of these complex cases.

Regain your footing with help from our Colorado Springs hit and run lawyer. The sooner you call us, the faster we can start building your defense. This legal battle can be won, and you don’t have to fight it alone.

Know Your Duties Under C.R.S. 42-4-1601

Colorado law requires any driver involved in an accident to remain at or return to the scene. You must also share your identifying information and offer reasonable assistance to injured parties.
Of course, accident scenes can be chaotic.

With emotions running high, mistakes happen. That’s why having an experienced hit-and-run lawyer can make all the difference. While leaving the scene is generally prohibited in Colorado, certain exceptions exist. For instance, if you initially stopped and complied with the rules but left briefly to call 911 when there were no injuries and your information was provided.

At Right Law Group, we’ve successfully defended clients against leaving-the-scene charges for over a decade. Whether it was confusion at the scene or a lapse in judgment, we know how to build an effective defense to avoid harsh penalties.

 

Penalties If Convicted of Hit and Run in Colorado Springs

divider

Make no mistake, convictions for leaving the scene carry severe consequences in Colorado.

Based on circumstances, penalties can include:

  • Large fines up to $2,000 plus surcharges
  • Up to 1 year in jail for misdemeanors
  • 2-6 years in prison for felony injury accidents
  • Lifetime criminal record
  • Driver’s license suspension

We know you want to avoid these life-altering punishments. The good news? Right Law Group has a proven track record of keeping clients out of jail and protecting their records and licenses.

The Costly Impact on Your Driver’s License

In Colorado, the DMV issues “points” against your driver’s license for various offenses. This includes hit-and-run convictions, which carry a steep 12 points.

Here’s how Colorado’s point system works:

  • Points are tacked on for offenses like DUI, reckless driving, speeding, and, of course, leaving the scene.
  • Each offense has a set point value, ranging from 1 point up to 12 points for hit and run.
  • Points stay active on your license for one year from the conviction date.
  • If you accumulate 12 points or more within a 12-month span, your license is suspended.

This suspension lasts for one year for a first offense. Subsequent offenses within 3 years lead to 9-month suspensions. Probationary licenses are still possible during suspension, but restrictions apply.

As you can see, the 12 points for a hit-and-run conviction put your license in serious jeopardy.

Even one hit and run can lead to suspension if you had prior offenses accrue points recently.

That’s why defending against these charges and avoiding a conviction is so important. The stakes are high, but an experienced hit-and-run lawyer knows how to help you avoid both criminal penalties and impacts on your driving privileges when possible. Don’t wait to seek expert help.

I Committed a Hit and Run; How Long Before the Police Catch Me?

It depends. It can take the police a few days to a few months to catch up to you if you committed a hit and run, and it’s quite possible that they could never catch you at all.

Hit-and-run charges often come after lengthy crash investigations by police. They’ll leverage paint transfers, car parts, eyewitnesses, security footage, and other evidence to identify the at-fault driver.

Having an attorney early in the process helps protect your rights and advise you on the best course of action during the investigation.

Building an Airtight Defense Against Hit and Run Charges

While the allegations should always be taken seriously, there are often defenses an experienced criminal lawyer can use to challenge the charges.

For example:

  • Contesting identification – Using accident reconstruction experts to argue the lack of evidence placing the defendant behind the wheel.
  • Challenging knowledge – Establishing through testimony, inspections, etc., that you didn’t know an accident occurred. Maybe it was a minor fender bender you didn’t feel.
  • Presenting alternatives – Demonstrating through expert testimony that weather, road conditions, mechanical failure, etc., caused the incident – not driver negligence.
  • Negotiating reductions – Pursuing plea bargains for lesser charges like careless driving if appropriate.

See what we mean? An aggressive legal defense strategy focused on poking holes in the prosecutor’s arguments can many times achieve favorable outcomes.

Don’t let one wrong decision impact your life, job or freedom.

Call today for a free case evaluation.

Colorado criminal procedure

divider
  • Arrest or
    Summons
    01

    Arrest or
    Summons

    The process begins with either an arrest or a summons. The accused is either arrested or served with paperwork summoning them to appear in court. During an arrest, Miranda rights may or may not be read to you. Officers are only required to recite your rights if they intend to question you about potentially incriminating things.

  • Bond Hearing
    02

    Bond Hearing

    In most cases, you're entitled to have a reasonable bond set after you've been arrested. In situations involving domestic violence, the police will request input from the victim before setting a bond. Bonds are set to ensure that a person appears in court at their court dates. If they don’t show up, they forfeit the money that was paid for the bond.

  • Advisement of
    Charges
    03

    Advisement of
    Charges

    Whether you are arrested or given a summons to appear, the court must make sure you understand what crimes you are being accused of committing. This is called advisement of charges. The District Attorney will detail the specific charges against you, and the Judge has to make sure you understand what possible penalties are associated with that charge in the state.

  • Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony
    Charges)
    04

    Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony
    Charges)

    A preliminary hearing is a way for your defense attorney to challenge the District Attorney’s right to bring charges against you by making them prove that there is reason to believe you committed a crime. The Judge is not deciding your guilt or innocence, but rather whether or not there is probable cause to charge you with the crime in question.

  • Pretrial Conference /
    Disposition
    Hearing
    05

    Pretrial Conference /
    Disposition
    Hearing

    This court date comes after your attorney has reviewed all of the reports and evidence in your case. Here’s where your attorney will engage in plea negotiations with the DA. If they can reach an agreement on the case, you may be able to take a plea bargain. If they cannot reach a resolution, your case will be set for an arraignment or trial date.

  • Arraignment
    06

    Arraignment

    An arraignment is the final date for you to decide how you choose to plea. Guilty or not guilty. If you plead guilty, then the case is set for a sentencing date. If you plead not guilty, you and your attorney will then set the case for trial.

  • Motions Hearing
    07

    Motions Hearing

    A motion hearing is when an attorney makes a request that requires a decision from the judge. For example, motions to suppress evidence or statements. These motions can limit the information that goes before a jury if it benefits your case, and there are legal grounds for doing so.

  • Pretrial Readiness
    Conference
    08

    Pretrial Readiness
    Conference

    A pretrial readiness conference is held at some point before trial. It usually is held about a week to a month before the date trial is set to begin. This court date ensures everyone is ready to go to trial on the set date. It is also a time for lawyers to bring up any issues they may have to be addressed before the day of trial.

  • Jury Trial
    09

    Jury Trial

    After a jury is selected for trial, the District Attorney’s responsibility is to present the case to the jury. The DA must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are guilty of the crime. Otherwise, the jury must find you innocent. Your attorney will be able to cross-examine all of the witnesses, present evidence, and ultimately help you navigate this process.

  • Sentencing
    Date
    10

    Sentencing
    Date

    At sentencing, the Judge must decide the appropriate legal penalty for the crime you plead guilty. The Judge’s decision is based on the listed penalties for the specific charge, recommendations from the presentence investigation, your criminal history, as well as statements made at the sentencing by the District Attorney, your attorney, you, and any named victims of the crime.

Frequently Asked Questions

divider

What are the penalties for hit and run in Colorado Springs?

Hit and run convictions in Colorado Springs can carry fines up to $2,000, up to 1 year in jail for misdemeanors, 2-6 years in prison for felony injury accidents, a permanent criminal record, 12 points against your driver’s license, and license suspension.

What should I do if I'm being investigated for hit and run?

If you are being investigated for a hit-and-run accident in Colorado Springs, it is important to exercise your right to remain silent and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. They can protect your rights during the investigation.

Can I avoid criminal charges if I didn't know I was in an accident?

Potentially, yes – if there is evidence you were unaware an accident occurred, it may be possible for an attorney to prevent criminal hit-and-run charges from being filed in some cases in Colorado.

How long do the police have to charge me with hit and run?

In Colorado, the statute of limitations gives the prosecution one year for misdemeanor hit-and-run charges and three years for felony charges. However, investigations happen quickly, so don’t wait to consult an attorney.

Will a hit-and-run also affect my civil liability?

Beyond potential criminal charges, a hit and run can expose you to significant civil liability if injured parties file lawsuits related to the accident. Consult an attorney on ways to minimize both civil and criminal consequences.

Experienced Criminal Defense Lawyer

Contact a Defense Attorney ASAP If Charged

divider

Being arrested for hit and run can seem scary and overwhelming. But staying calm and immediately contacting an experienced criminal defense lawyer is vital to protect your rights starting today. They can handle communications with law enforcement for you and get to work right away investigating the circumstances and building your strongest case possible. Don’t wait to call legal counsel.

Here at Right Law Group, our attorneys provide relentless criminal defense to clients facing charges just like yours. As former prosecutors and district attorneys ourselves, we know all the ins and outs of getting charges reduced or dismissed when someone’s reputation and freedom are on the line.

With multiple offices across Colorado and decades of combined experience, we have the statewide reach and legal expertise to take on your case. Contact us for a free consultation to learn more about how we can help. The sooner we get involved, the better.

Areas Served

divider

El Paso County

Douglas County

map

Arapahoe County

  • Centennial
  • Englewood
  • Greenwood Village
  • Cherry Hills Village
  • Foxfield
  • Sheridan
  • Columbine Valley
  • Byers
  • Southglenn
  • Castlewood
  • Peoria

Pueblo County

Teller County

Fremont County

  • Coaldale
  • Cotopaxi
  • Hillside
  • Howard
  • Texas Creek
  • Wellsville