Menu
Call
Contact
Blog

DUI Lawyer in Pueblo West

Google Reviews

Need to talk to a DUI lawyer in Pueblo West, CO?

If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI in Pueblo West then you need to act fast. Time is NOT on your side.

Your license will be AUTOMATICALLY suspended in SEVEN days if you do not request an administrative review with the DMV.

You may be able to keep your driving privileges, but there isn’t much time. You should speak to a local DUI lawyer in Pueblo West immediately.

A DUI lawyer in Pueblo West can help you keep your license and give you an honest assessment of your charges.

All it takes is one call to determine if there is a potential for reduction or even a dismissal of your charges — schedule a 100% FREE consultation now.

Top-Rated Colorado Criminal Defense Lawyer

Local DUI Lawyer in Pueblo West

Pueblo West is a wonderful city with many things to do. Maybe you’re the outdoorsy type and prefer a trek through Pike’s Peak or through the Garden of Gods.

If you’d rather stay indoors, of course there’s the Pueblo West Pioneers Museum or the ProRodeo Hall of Fame.

Of course, some of us just want to sing our hearts out on karaoke night at Thunder and Buttons.

Perhaps that last one landed you right here.

In either case, if you’ve read this far you’re likely wondering “what happens for your first DUI offense in Pueblo West?”

The answer really is “it depends”.

If this is your first DUI offense, while you can be sentenced to up to one year in jail, it’s probably unlikely you will serve jail time if you have good representation. The most important thing to focus on here is keeping your license so you do not negatively impact your ability to work.

Now, if this is your second or third offense, the penalties can become much more severe, so it’s important to consult with an attorney before you plead guilty or “no contest”.

Here is sentencing guidelines for a DUI in Colorado:

Don’t let one wrong decision impact your life, job or freedom.

Call today for a free case evaluation.

Experienced DUI Lawyer in Pueblo West, CO

DUI First Offense

Penalties for your first DUI offense may include:

  • 5 days to a year in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Revocation of your license for up to 9 months
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Alcohol education
  • Ignition interlock device up to 9 months
  • Drivers under 21 years old can have their driver’s license revoked for 3 months to a year or lose their license.

DUI Second Offense

Penalties for a second DUI offense include:

  • MINIMUM of 10 days to a year in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,500
  • Revocation of your license up to a year
  • Up to 120 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device 2 to 5 years

DUI Third Offense

Penalties for a third DUI offense include:

  • MINIMUM of 60 days to a year in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,500
  • Indefinite license revocation – You can apply for reinstatement after 2 years.
  • Up to 120 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device 2 to 5 years.

DUI Fourth Offense (or more)

Penalties for a fourth DUI offense include:

  • MINIMUM of 90 days in jail up to 6 years in prison
  • A fine of up to $500,000
  • Indefinite license revocation – You can apply for reinstatement after 2 years.
  • Up to 120 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device 3 to 6 years.

Obviously, with multiple offenses the penalties become more severe. You should also understand that out-of-state convictions can and will be used against you as aggravating factors. This means that you will likely face mandatory jail time. That is, of course, unless you call a DUI lawyer in Pueblo West and get the expert legal help you need.

As a former prosecutor, our lead DUI lawyer in Pueblo West understands both sides of the aisle and has deep knowledge of the inner-working of the DA office, and is familiar with the challenges the District Attorney has in proving beyond a reasonable doubt that you were, in fact, driving while intoxicated. Not everything is admissible. It is extremely common for the arresting officer to make procedural errors during the arrest that can often lead to a reduction of charges or an outright dismissal of your DUI.

Here’s the reality: If you have been arrested for DUI in Pueblo West, you can either plead guilty or FIGHT your DUI charges.

Pleading guilty makes ZERO sense.

Even if you feel your case is hopeless, you should get the expert opinion of a DUI lawyer in Pueblo West as soon as possible BEFORE making any rash or uninformed decisions.

The District Attorney will often come to you with a deal immediately. This “deal” will be an “expiring offer” meant to pressure you into pleading guilty quickly. This is a tactic not of mercy, but of clearing the court calendar and saving the county the expense of future court dates and a potential trial.

The DA is not your friend or out to do you a favor.

The District Attorney’s office is measured on conviction rates and reducing the expenditure of trials. The entire system is structured to encourage uninformed people to “take a deal” and move them off the calendar as quickly as possible.

This is the main reason why ONE DUI mistake can often result in MULTIPLE charges filed against you by the District Attorney. Police Officers use the same tactic. The goal is to increase your potential jail time (on paper) by tallying up the charges in hopes of scaring you into taking a deal.

Statewide Colorado DUI Lawyer

Pleading guilty means you will have a criminal record. Your insurance costs will soar. You’ll likely be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.

A DUI conviction can also mean loss of employment or being stripped of your professional license. If you are a nurse or licensed professional, this can potentially mean the end of your career.

If you are going to school to enter a field that requires licensing through a professional board, being convicted of DUI in Pueblo West can mean getting denied for licensure later in life after you graduate.

The long-term costs of DUI are not cheap.

Ready for more information? Speak to an expert DUI lawyer in Pueblo West and get a 100% honest assessment of your charges.

Contact us today for a FREE consultation. You can contact us by phone, text, live chat or by filling out this form.

We are available 24×7 to defend you. Payment plans are available.

Pueblo West Court Resources

  • Warrant Search
  • Jail information
  • Inmate lookup
  • Docket Search
  • Courthouse
  • Police
  • Sheriff’s

DUI Lawyer Near You

Whether you are looking for a DUI lawyer in Colorado Springs, Fountain, Security-Widefield, Manitou Springs or anywhere in El Paso County, we can help. See all the areas we serve here.

Colorado criminal procedure

  • Arrest or
    Summons
    01

    Arrest or
    Summons

    The process begins with either an arrest or a summons. The accused is either arrested or served with paperwork summoning them to appear in court. During an arrest, Miranda rights may or may not be read to you. Officers are only required to recite your rights if they intend to question you about potentially incriminating things.

  • Bond Hearing
    02

    Bond Hearing

    In most cases, you're entitled to have a reasonable bond set after you've been arrested. In situations involving domestic violence, the police will request input from the victim before setting a bond. Bonds are set to ensure that a person appears in court at their court dates. If they don’t show up, they forfeit the money that was paid for the bond.

  • Advisement of
    Charges
    03

    Advisement of
    Charges

    Whether you are arrested or given a summons to appear, the court must make sure you understand what crimes you are being accused of committing. This is called advisement of charges. The District Attorney will detail the specific charges against you, and the Judge has to make sure you understand what possible penalties are associated with that charge in the state.

  • Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony
    Charges)
    04

    Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony
    Charges)

    A preliminary hearing is a way for your defense attorney to challenge the District Attorney’s right to bring charges against you by making them prove that there is reason to believe you committed a crime. The Judge is not deciding your guilt or innocence, but rather whether or not there is probable cause to charge you with the crime in question.

  • Pretrial Conference /
    Disposition
    Hearing
    05

    Pretrial Conference /
    Disposition
    Hearing

    This court date comes after your attorney has reviewed all of the reports and evidence in your case. Here’s where your attorney will engage in plea negotiations with the DA. If they can reach an agreement on the case, you may be able to take a plea bargain. If they cannot reach a resolution, your case will be set for an arraignment or trial date.

  • Arraignment
    06

    Arraignment

    An arraignment is the final date for you to decide how you choose to plea. Guilty or not guilty. If you plead guilty, then the case is set for a sentencing date. If you plead not guilty, you and your attorney will then set the case for trial.

  • Motions Hearing
    07

    Motions Hearing

    A motion hearing is when an attorney makes a request that requires a decision from the judge. For example, motions to suppress evidence or statements. These motions can limit the information that goes before a jury if it benefits your case, and there are legal grounds for doing so.

  • Pretrial Readiness
    Conference
    08

    Pretrial Readiness
    Conference

    A pretrial readiness conference is held at some point before trial. It usually is held about a week to a month before the date trial is set to begin. This court date ensures everyone is ready to go to trial on the set date. It is also a time for lawyers to bring up any issues they may have to be addressed before the day of trial.

  • Jury Trial
    09

    Jury Trial

    After a jury is selected for trial, the District Attorney’s responsibility is to present the case to the jury. The DA must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are guilty of the crime. Otherwise, the jury must find you innocent. Your attorney will be able to cross-examine all of the witnesses, present evidence, and ultimately help you navigate this process.

  • Sentencing
    Date
    10

    Sentencing
    Date

    At sentencing, the Judge must decide the appropriate legal penalty for the crime you plead guilty. The Judge’s decision is based on the listed penalties for the specific charge, recommendations from the presentence investigation, your criminal history, as well as statements made at the sentencing by the District Attorney, your attorney, you, and any named victims of the crime.

What is the sentence for misdemeanors in Colorado?

  • Class 1

  • 6 to 18 months in county jail, and/or
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • For extraordinary risk class 1 misdemeanors, the maximum jail sentence is 24 months.
  • For 3rd-degree assault (CRS 18-3-204), the maximum sentence can be 48 months if the victim was on duty as a:
    • Peace officer,
    • Emergency medical provider,
    • Firefighter, or
    • Mental health professional at the Department of Human Services.
  • Class 2

  • 3 to 12 months in county jail, and/or
  • $250 to $1,000 in fines
  • Class 3

  • Up to 6 months of county jail, and/or
  • $50 to $750 in fines2

What are Colorado felony penalties?

  • Class 1

  • Life imprisonment
  • No Colorado crime carries the death penalty.
  • Class 2

  • 8 – 24 years in Colorado State Prison, and/or
  • $5,000 – $1,000,000
  • 5 years of mandatory parole if the offense is a crime of violence. Otherwise, 3 years of mandatory parole.
  • Class 3

  • 4 – 12 years in prison, and/or
  • $3,000 – $750,000
  • 3 years of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 3 felonies, the maximum sentence is 16 years in prison.
  • Class 4

  • 2 – 6 years in prison, and/or
  • $2,000 – $500,000
  • 3 years of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 4 felonies, the maximum sentence is 8 years in prison.
  • Class 5

  • 1 – 3 years in prison, and/or
  • $1,000 – $100,000
  • 2 years of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 5 felonies, the maximum sentence is 4 years in prison.
  • Class 6

  • 1 – 18 months years in prison, and/or
  • $1,000 – $100,000
  • 1 year of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 6 felonies, the maximum sentence is 2 years in prison.

CALL NOW IF YOU HAVE BEEN ARRESTED

719-822-6227

Experienced Drug Offenses Lawyer

Colorado Springs Drug Offenses Lawyer Near You

When you’re charged with any drug offenses in Colorado, you need a lawyer who is familiar with the laws and knows how the court system works. Criminal defense attorneys work with you to help you establish a strong defense. Even if you believe that a conviction is inevitable, a Colorado Springs drug offenses lawyer can help you fight for a lesser charge, a reduced sentence, or another more favorable outcome. Contact us right away for a free case consultation.