The problem with traffic tickets is that, eventually, they come back to bite you. But you know this all too well if you’ve had your driving privileges revoked or suspended in Colorado.
Whether applying for a hardship license or full reinstatement, one thing is for sure, it’s going to be a minute before you’re back on the road. That means meeting all the requirements set by the state, including filing an SR-22 insurance form with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.
But what exactly is an SR-22, and when do you need one? Here’s everything you need to know.
What Is an SR-22?
First things first, an SR-22 isn’t a type of insurance. It’s a financial responsibility insurance certificate required by the DMV to prove you’re maintaining the state-minimum liability insurance coverage and complying with state laws.
Say, for instance, you receive a traffic citation—like a speeding ticket, driving with no insurance, or DUI—and your driver’s license is suspended. In that case, the state will mandate an SR-22 as a requirement for reinstatement.
To comply, you’ll need to purchase car insurance and have your insurer file the SR-22 form with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles on your behalf.
But here’s the catch—not all insurance carriers do SR-22 filing. If you require one, that’s a big red flag to the car insurance company. And, because of your high-risk status, insurance companies will likely charge you much more on your car insurance policy—kicking you while you’re already down.
How Do I Know If I Need an SR-22?
In Colorado, an SR-22 will always be required to reinstate your license if it has been revoked or suspended whether that’s due to Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI), or other serious infractions.
So, unless you never plan on driving again, you’ll need to have and maintain insurance on your car and file an SR-22 for up to three years before the requirement goes away.
Even if you decide to move to a different state, you won’t be able to outrun these consequences. And if at any time during this three-year period, you fail to pay your insurance on time and your coverage lapses, you’ll be back at square one with a suspended license.
How to Get an SR-22
Contact your current insurance provider and let them know the situation. If they agree to file the SR-22 form for you, great, you’re good to go. If not, or if you don’t have insurance coverage at the moment, you’ll need to shop around and find a carrier that will.
You’ll at least need to meet Colorado’s minimum liability insurance requirement, which is:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 property damage
While an SR-22 isn’t fairly expensive in itself, requesting one can cause the insurance company to take another look at your driving history, revealing whatever traffic ticket or offense got you here.
And they’ll use whatever information they find to dramatically raise your rates on your auto insurance policy.
Got a Ticket in Colorado? Call the Ticket Pros at Right Law Group Today
As the saying goes, if you can’t do the time, don’t do the crime.
But when you’ve run out of options and are facing a driver’s license suspension, you can rely on a criminal defense attorney at Right Law Group to fight your ticket or DUI charge for you.
Call today to book your free consultation.