Colorado DWAI lawyer
Colorado DWAI Lawyer
Facing DWAI Charges? If You Were Charged With DWAI in Colorado You ONLY Have 7 DAYS to Request A DMV Hearing Before Your License Is Suspended.
Colorado is nationally known for having strict DUI laws. People who drive while impaired due to alcohol or drug use are especially likely to face unforgiving penalties. If you are charged with driving while ability impaired (DWAI), you deserve to know your rights so that you may dispute any unwarranted charges against you. By seeking legal representation from an experienced DWAI lawyer, you can minimize damage to your driving record and secure the best possible outcome with your DWAI case.
When should I call a Colorado Springs DWAI lawyer?
As soon as you possibly can. Acting quickly is critical because you only have a limited amount of time to avoid suspension of your license. If you were arrested in Colorado for DWAI, you only have seven days to request a DMV hearing. If you miss this deadline, the state of Colorado will automatically suspend your license.
What is the difference between DUI and DWAI?
The primary difference between DUI and DWAI is the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC). In Colorado, if a driver’s BAC is 0.08 percent or greater, the driver is guilty of DUI. If your BAC is between 0.05 percent and 0.08 percent, the offense is typically categorized as DWAI.
There are some exceptions to this rule. For instance, a driver who exhibits signs of impairment but has a BAC of less than .05 percent may still be charged with a DUI. While this type of scenario is rare, it illustrates the importance of fully refraining from alcohol and substance consumption prior to driving.
“Even if your BAC is less than .05 percent (DWAI limit), you can still be charged with a DUI if you show signs of impairment. The only absolute way to ensure you are safe to drive is to have a BAC of zero.” – Colorado Department of Transportation
It is important to note that DWAI BAC thresholds are more stringent for younger drivers. For drivers under the age of 21, the BAC limit is tightened to 0.02 percent, leaving younger drivers increasingly likely to face charges.
If you have been arrested…
Your FREEDOM is potentially at stake. A conviction can have a huge impact on your job, relationships, and your future. You need to act fast.
What are the penalties for DWAI?
If you are charged with DWAI in Colorado, you may be subject to a variety of unpleasant consequences. The severity of your penalty will depend on your past history of DUI or DWAI. In general, repeat offenders typically receive steeper penalties. For instance, they face longer jail sentences and costlier fines. Plus, they are required to place an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles to prevent them from starting their car following alcohol consumption. Here is a look at the potential penalties you may face for DWAI:
- First-time offenders: Up to $500 in fines and up to 180 days of jail time.
- Second-time offenders: Up to $1,500 in fines and up to one year of jail time, plus a 12-month license suspension and mandatory IID.
- Third-time offenders: Up to $1,500 in fines and up to one year of jail time, plus a 24-month license suspension and mandatory IID.
The length of time an offender is required to keep an IID on their vehicle depends on the driver’s record and the severity of the DWAI charge. While second-time offenders with relatively minor charges may only have to keep an IID installed for four to 12 months, repeat offenders with serious charges may be required to keep the IID installed for up to five years.
Finally, Colorado is among the states that have no limit on their “look back” period for alcohol-related driving offenses. Unlike some other states that have relatively short look-back periods of five to seven years, Colorado has harsh look-back laws mandating that any and all previous DWAI and DUI offenses will remain on your record for a lifetime. Given the severity of Colorado’s laws, it is especially important to seek legal guidance to help avoid having a tarnished driving record for a lifetime.
How can a Colorado Springs DWAI lawyer help you?
A DWAI lawyer is the key to securing the best possible outcome with your case. A top Colorado DWAI attorney will review the details of your DWAI charges and determine the best course of action to take. Here are some specific ways a DWAI lawyer can help you with your defense:
- Determine whether the enforcement officials were justified in pulling you over
- Review the circumstances of your arrest to see if it was illegal
- Ensure that your DUI test complied with all pertinent regulations
- Screen for noncompliance with Colorado DUI Toxicology Laboratory Certification Standards
- Help minimize penalties and damage to your driving record
We encourage you to reach out to one of our Colorado Springs DWAI lawyers today to discover how we can help you maximize your chances of a favorable outcome in your case.
Frequently Asked Questions
DWAI charges, while not as serious as DUI charges, can still come with severe penalties and have an impact on your future. A DWAI may or may not impact your employment opportunities the way a DUI can depending on the job, but it is still a blemish on your driving record, so if you drive for a living it could be a problem.
In Colorado, a first-time DWAI conviction would not be considered a felony. In order for a DWAI to be a felony, it would need to have happened after someone already has multiple DUI or DWAI convictions on their record.
In Colorado, a DWAI will stay on your criminal record forever, but will only be visible on your driving record for 10 years. It is important to keep in mind, however, that Colorado has no “look-back” period, meaning that even if you get a DWAI or DUI 11 years after a previous DUI or DWAI (in any state), it will still be considered a subsequent charge. This is important to remember since any DUI or DWAI charge that happens for the 4th time in a lifetime will be a felony.
Colorado Springs DWAI Lawyer Near You
When you’re charged with DWAI in Colorado, you need a lawyer who is familiar with the laws and knows how the court system works. DUI attorneys work with you to help you establish a strong defense. Even if you believe that a conviction is inevitable, a DWAI lawyer can help you fight for a lesser charge, a reduced sentence, or another more favorable outcome. Contact us right away for a free case consultation.
Sworn to Protect Our
KEPT US UP TO DATE EACH STEP OF THE WAY
The attorneys at Right Law Group, reviewed our case and discussed their recommendations clearly. They kept us up to date each step of the way with continued explanations. They were readily available for questions/concerns through the process. We would reach out to them again in the future for any legal concerns.
VERY COMMUNICATIVE AND VERY UNDERSTANDING
Beat Your DUI.
Keep Your License.