Call now

Englewood DUI Attorney

2022 Winner - Best of the Springs
Right Law Group, PC BBB Business Review
Lawyer of the Year - American Institute of Legal Professionals
Colorado Bar Association
Top 40 The National Trial Lawyers
Top 100 The National Trial Lawyers
AVVO 10.0 Superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense
Google Reviews



We understand the impact this can have on your life; the Right Law Group legal team is prepared to fight for your freedom. As an experienced Englewood DUI attorney and criminal defense attorney, Matt Chaput will provide the aggressive representation you need to get the best possible outcome for your case. Need help? Contact us now.


Good people can have a momentary lapse in judgment and make a mistake — If you’ve been charged with a DUI or any criminal charge, your first phone call should be to an attorney.

Remember your rights. You have the right to remain silent, and you have the right to an attorney. Having an attorney is an equal right given to all American’s by the United States Constitution.

Being charged and convicted of a crime can impact all aspects of your life. It can affect your job, your ability to drive, your ability to travel or leave the state, and ultimately your freedom. A Englewood DUI Attorney can help explain the impact that a DUI will have on your life.

We help clients fix their mistakes.

Don’t leave your livelihood and your liberty to chance. Contact an attorney proven to resolve various criminal defense cases, including DUI, traffic violations, and drug possession. A Englewood DUI attorney will provide you with a 100% honest assessment of your case — Start building your defense with a FREE consultation.

Top-Rated Colorado Criminal Defense Lawyer




A DUI charge has many unique nuances and technical aspects that an experienced Englewood DUI attorney will guide you through. Without a good defense team, you may not be able to determine:

  • If the police had reasonable suspicion to stop your vehicle.
  • If there was probable cause to conduct a BAC test.
  • If law enforcement followed procedures correctly.
  • And most importantly, if your rights have been violated.

A mistake made by the police in any of these areas can play a huge role in your case’s outcome.

It’s always in your best interest to speak to an attorney about the options before making a plea deal or talking to prosecutors. When you hire an attorney, it becomes their duty to advocate on your behalf and fight for your rights in court to get you the best possible outcome for your DUI case.

Need help with something other than a DUI or DWAI? You may need a criminal defense attorney to help you recover from your mistakes. They can provide you with advice and make sure you understand ALL of your legal options.

Don’t leave your future in the hands of someone you don’t know. Matthew Chaput will take the time to evaluate your situation and give your straightforward, honest advice to help you move past your charges — Reach out to us today!

Don’t let one wrong decision impact your life, job or freedom.

Call today for a free case evaluation.



The penalties you face for a DUI conviction, including potential jail time and fines, will largely depend on whether this is your first or subsequent offense.

First DUI Penalties

  • 5 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,000 in fines
  • Up to 2 years’ probation
  • 48-96 hours public service

Second DUI Penalties

  • 10 days to a maximum of 2 years.
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 2-4 years’ probation
  • 48-120 hours public service

Third DUI Penalties

  • 60 consecutive days minimum and 2 years maximum jail time
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 2-4 years’ probation
  • 48-120 hours public service

First Offense DWAI Penalties

  • 2-180 days in jail
  • $200-$500 in fines
  • Up to 2 years’ probation
  • 24-48 hours public service

Second DWAI Penalties

  • 10 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 48-120 hours of public service
  • 8 points on your license

Third DWAI Penalties

  • 60 days-1 year in jail
  • $600-$1,500 in fines
  • 48-120 hours of public service
  • 8 points on your license

Fourth or Subsequent DWAI Penalties

  • A Class 4 Felony
  • 2-6 years in prison with 3-year parole
  • $2,000-$500,000 in fines



The cost for defending your case is typically reflective of your driving record and any past DUI’s. The penalties increase with each subsequent DUI; for example, a fourth DUI will likely be charged as a felony. Of course, each case is different, and there may be factors present that allow the case to be dismissed or reduced at a lesser charge. The range of penalties and charges all have an impact on how much an attorney will charge. The best way to be sure of the costs is to contact us today for a 100% free and honest assessment of your charges.

Payment plans are available. Contact us today for more information.

Here are some facts you should know about DUI in Colorado:

  • Colorado has two primary DUI offenses. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while ability impaired (DWAI). The difference in these offenses is the BAC level of the driver.
  • Colorado state law requires that an ignition interlock device be installed in any vehicle that is operated by the offender… Even if it’s your first DUI.
  • Penalties for DUI increase if a person has had multiple DUIs; for second, third, and fourth or more offenses, mandatory jail time will be imposed.
  • A fourth offense will often be charged as a felony.
  • When Charged with a DUI or DWAI in Colorado, you are also facing a loss of your driver’s license through an administrative hearing.
  • Colorado has an express consent statute. Essentially that statute requires a person suspected of Driving under the influence, to submit to either a blood or breath test.
  • Colorado allows for two different types of testing to determine how much alcohol is in your system. The types of tests that can be administered are both Blood and Breath.
  • Prosecutors can use your refusal to take a test against you in court.
  • Officers must follow certain procedures when administering these tests. Failure to do so may affect their reliability and admissibility in court.
  • To get a hearing with the DMV, you must notify them in writing within 7 days of your arrest – Failure to do so will result in the automatic revocation of your license.



Right Law Group is a top-rated Colorado law firm that focuses on DUI and Criminal Defense. We represent clients all over Colorado.

If you are looking for a DUI Defense Attorney that offers aggressive defense no matter the case, look no further.

Contact us today for a free consultation. Don’t make the mistake of trying to defend yourself or pleading guilty or no contest just because you want to get this behind you. A conviction for ANY charge can have lasting consequences that you should be aware of before making any decisions.

Colorado criminal procedure

  • Arrest or

    Arrest or

    The process begins with either an arrest or a summons. The accused is either arrested or served with paperwork summoning them to appear in court. During an arrest, Miranda rights may or may not be read to you. Officers are only required to recite your rights if they intend to question you about potentially incriminating things.

  • Bond Hearing

    Bond Hearing

    In most cases, you're entitled to have a reasonable bond set after you've been arrested. In situations involving domestic violence, the police will request input from the victim before setting a bond. Bonds are set to ensure that a person appears in court at their court dates. If they don’t show up, they forfeit the money that was paid for the bond.

  • Advisement of

    Advisement of

    Whether you are arrested or given a summons to appear, the court must make sure you understand what crimes you are being accused of committing. This is called advisement of charges. The District Attorney will detail the specific charges against you, and the Judge has to make sure you understand what possible penalties are associated with that charge in the state.

  • Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony

    Preliminary Hearing
    (for Higher Felony

    A preliminary hearing is a way for your defense attorney to challenge the District Attorney’s right to bring charges against you by making them prove that there is reason to believe you committed a crime. The Judge is not deciding your guilt or innocence, but rather whether or not there is probable cause to charge you with the crime in question.

  • Pretrial Conference /

    Pretrial Conference /

    This court date comes after your attorney has reviewed all of the reports and evidence in your case. Here’s where your attorney will engage in plea negotiations with the DA. If they can reach an agreement on the case, you may be able to take a plea bargain. If they cannot reach a resolution, your case will be set for an arraignment or trial date.

  • Arraignment


    An arraignment is the final date for you to decide how you choose to plea. Guilty or not guilty. If you plead guilty, then the case is set for a sentencing date. If you plead not guilty, you and your attorney will then set the case for trial.

  • Motions Hearing

    Motions Hearing

    A motion hearing is when an attorney makes a request that requires a decision from the judge. For example, motions to suppress evidence or statements. These motions can limit the information that goes before a jury if it benefits your case, and there are legal grounds for doing so.

  • Pretrial Readiness

    Pretrial Readiness

    A pretrial readiness conference is held at some point before trial. It usually is held about a week to a month before the date trial is set to begin. This court date ensures everyone is ready to go to trial on the set date. It is also a time for lawyers to bring up any issues they may have to be addressed before the day of trial.

  • Jury Trial

    Jury Trial

    After a jury is selected for trial, the District Attorney’s responsibility is to present the case to the jury. The DA must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are guilty of the crime. Otherwise, the jury must find you innocent. Your attorney will be able to cross-examine all of the witnesses, present evidence, and ultimately help you navigate this process.

  • Sentencing


    At sentencing, the Judge must decide the appropriate legal penalty for the crime you plead guilty. The Judge’s decision is based on the listed penalties for the specific charge, recommendations from the presentence investigation, your criminal history, as well as statements made at the sentencing by the District Attorney, your attorney, you, and any named victims of the crime.

What is the sentence for misdemeanors in Colorado?

  • Class 1

  • 6 to 18 months in county jail, and/or
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • For extraordinary risk class 1 misdemeanors, the maximum jail sentence is 24 months.
  • For 3rd-degree assault (CRS 18-3-204), the maximum sentence can be 48 months if the victim was on duty as a:
    • Peace officer,
    • Emergency medical provider,
    • Firefighter, or
    • Mental health professional at the Department of Human Services.
  • Class 2

  • 3 to 12 months in county jail, and/or
  • $250 to $1,000 in fines

What are Colorado felony penalties?

  • Class 1

  • Life imprisonment
  • No Colorado crime carries the death penalty.
  • Class 2

  • 8 – 24 years in Colorado State Prison, and/or
  • $5,000 – $1,000,000
  • 5 years of mandatory parole if the offense is a crime of violence. Otherwise, 3 years of mandatory parole.
  • Class 3

  • 4-12 years in prison
  • Fines of up to $750,000 but not less than $3,000
  • 3 years of parole
  • Class 4

  • 2 – 6 years in prison, and/or
  • $2,000 – $500,000
  • 3 years of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 4 felonies, the maximum sentence is 8 years in prison.
  • Class 5

  • 1 – 3 years in prison, and/or
  • $1,000 – $100,000
  • 2 years of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 5 felonies, the maximum sentence is 4 years in prison.
  • Class 6

  • 1 – 18 months years in prison, and/or
  • $1,000 – $100,000
  • 1 year of mandatory parole
  • For extraordinary risk class 6 felonies, the maximum sentence is 2 years in prison.



Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Attorney


At Right Law Group, we understand the stress you are under. Our Criminal Defense Law Firm is here to guide you down the right path to your legal challenge. Whether you are facing your first DUI, a drug charge, need a restraining order, or are facing another type of criminal charge, our firm is committed to your well-being and protecting your rights the right way.

I was driving while intoxicated

You should know that you only have 7 days to request an administrative review with the DMV to keep your license. If you don’t, your license will be automatically suspended. Working with a lawyer will give you a much better chance of keeping your license and losing your DUI. Contact us immediately to speak to an experienced Englewood DUI attorney.

I received a speeding ticket in Englewood

It doesn’t matter where you live in Denver – Highlands Ranch, Englewood, or anywhere else in Arapahoe or Douglas County; we can help. If you live out-of-state, we can represent you without the need for your presence in court. The cost of a lawyer is often less than the long-term consequences of more points on your license. Talk to a Englewood traffic lawyer now for immediate help.

I have been charged with drug possession

Whether for personal use or sales, drug possession can be a severe offense that leaves a blemish on your record that you’ll have to relive every time you fill out a job application or lease a new apartment or home. If you have been arrested for possession with intent to distribute, a conviction can mean jail time or prison. Your best bet is to contact a Englewood drug defense attorney immediately.

I was arrested for a serious felony

A serious felony can mean a lengthy jail/prison sentence. The most important thing you can do is avoid speaking with the police or the prosecutors before speaking with your criminal defense attorney.

I need help with something else

Not sure where to find the information you are looking for? Contact us here.

Experienced Drug Offenses Lawyer

Colorado Springs Drug Offenses Lawyer Near You


When you’re charged with any drug offenses in Colorado, you need a lawyer who is familiar with the laws and knows how the court system works. Criminal defense attorneys work with you to help you establish a strong defense. Even if you believe that a conviction is inevitable, a Colorado Springs drug offenses lawyer can help you fight for a lesser charge, a reduced sentence, or another more favorable outcome. Contact us right away for a free case consultation.

Areas Served


El Paso County

Douglas County


Arapahoe County

  • Centennial
  • Englewood
  • Greenwood Village
  • Cherry Hills Village
  • Foxfield
  • Sheridan
  • Columbine Valley
  • Byers
  • Southglenn
  • Castlewood
  • Peoria

Pueblo County

Teller County

Fremont County

  • Coaldale
  • Cotopaxi
  • Hillside
  • Howard
  • Texas Creek
  • Wellsville