Colorado DUI Cost
Colorado Springs DUI Attorney
What Does A Colorado DUI Cost?
A DUI doesn’t just mean that you’ll lose your driving privilege. The DUI cost is significant, usually over $10,000, and you’ll also have to take off of work to attend court appearances, probation meetings, education classes and more.
If driving is a key job responsibility for your job, you may also lose your job.
Working with a Colorado DUI lawyer can help you reduce the cost of your DUI and possibly lower the charges against you. The true cost of a DUI is enough to put the average person in significant debt.
What Is the True Cost of a DUI in Colorado?
The true cost of a DUI is more than just money; it’s your freedom and future prospects. The State of Colorado takes drunk driving very seriously. Fines and fees associated with DUIs in the state have increased – and will only continue to rise.
Along with monetary costs, offenders also face other costs that can linger for years, including:
- Loss of license, making it more difficult for you to get to work.
- Job loss. If your job requires you to drive for a living, a DUI conviction means losing your livelihood.
- Future employment may be more difficult to secure. Employers may not be comfortable hiring an applicant with a previous DUI conviction.
- Background check issues. Employment and even financial aid applications can trigger a background check, and a DUI conviction would appear.
- Strained relationships. A DUI arrest and conviction can put a strain on professional, personal and family relationships. You may worry that family and friends will look at you differently.
- Difficulty getting an education. Some colleges do not accept students with prior DUI convictions. If the conviction occurs while you are in college, scholarships may be denied or revoked. When applying for college, you may be required to disclose criminal history or agree to a background check.
- Your freedom. The biggest DUI cost is your freedom. Even first-time offenders can face time in jail for a DUI conviction.
These are just the personal costs of a DUI conviction in Colorado. There are also monetary costs associated with a conviction.
If you have been arrested…
Your FREEDOM is potentially at stake. A conviction can have a huge impact on your job, relationships, and your future. You need to act fast.
Here Are the Costs Associated with DUI in Colorado Springs:
According to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), the average cost of a first DUI in the state is $13,530.
What does this cost include?
- Auto insurance increase: $3,600
- Ignition interlock device rental $2,172
- Alcohol/drug education treatment: $1,000
- PDD surcharge: $300
- Detox/jail: $303
- Fine: $600
- Probation supervision: $1200
- Alcohol/drug evaluation: $200
- Victim assistance fund: $163
- Towing fee: $175
- Car storage fee: $49.2/day
- Victim impact program: $50
- Restricted license: $26
- Instruction permit: $16.80
- Brain injury fund fee: $20
- Attorney pre-trial fees: $3,650 (on average)
A DUI can have significant monetary and personal costs. If you are facing DUI charges, it is crucial to hire a Colorado DUI attorney as soon as possible.
How to Reduce the DUI Cost in Colorado
Colorado’s Department of Transportation is strict on DUI offenses. When a person goes to court and decides to represent themselves, they’ll spend $10,000 or more. The costs can be much higher for each subsequent DUI.
If you want to reduce your DUI costs, your best course of action is to avoid a conviction.
One of the most serious mistakes drivers make is pleading guilty. An experienced attorney can make a strong argument on your behalf to lower your costs and the potential conviction. When we represent clients, we start the process by:
- Listening to your story
- Gathering and following the available evidence
- Strategizing on the best method to reduce your charges
Prosecutors must, beyond a reasonable doubt, prove that you’re guilty. The burden of proof allows your attorney to build a strong defense that casts doubt on the allegations.
A few of the many ways that we may build a defense on your behalf include:
- Undermine the credibility of the witness
- Question the accuracy of the test results
- Question the validity of the evidence
- Question the legal reason for the stop
- Question the procedure surrounding the tests
- Question whether you were legal presumed to be driving or not
Reducing the charges against you is the best way to reduce the costs related to a DUI.
Is It Worth It to Hire a Colorado Springs DUI Lawyer?
Hiring a DUI lawyer is an upfront expense that a lot of drivers are reluctant to make, but hiring a lawyer is a worthwhile investment. A lawyer is there to help reduce your charges, potentially saving you from losing your license, and the lawyer will also try to have the costs reduced.
Your chances of eliminating the charges against you, or reducing the sentence significantly, increase when you’re working with a lawyer.
Unless you are a lawyer with experience, you can expect costs of $13,000 or more. Not only does hiring a lawyer help you reduce that case, the lawyer will also try to reduce the appearances that you need to make in:
- Alcohol education classes
- Community service
- Service appointments for your interlock service appointment
If your lawyer is able to reduce or beat your charges, you’ll be able to spend less time on the appearances above which saves you even more money.
Colorado Springs DUI Attorney Near You
What is a DUI? If you are unsure and need help navigating the Colorado DUI laws, contact Right Law Group today for a free case evaluation. You may be able to keep your license. Call us now to get help. An experienced Colorado Springs DUI lawyer can help get you through this. Contact us today for a FREE consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Jail time for a Colorado DUI depends on a few factors. There is no mandatory jail time for a first offense, but you could still be facing 5 days to a year in jail. For subsequent DUI convictions there is mandatory jail time which could be up to two years.
The cost of a DUI in Colorado depends on a few different factors. Previous convictions and the circumstances surrounding the DUI arrest are the two biggest factors. Depending on the situation, a DUI can cost a person anywhere from $5,000 to $20,000.
In Colorado, a DUI charge generally comes with 12 points off of your license. Some extenuating circumstances (such as leaving the scene of an associated accident) can result in additional points while pleading to a lesser offense such as DWAI can result in 8 points.
Sworn to Protect Our
KEPT US UP TO DATE EACH STEP OF THE WAY
The attorneys at Right Law Group, reviewed our case and discussed their recommendations clearly. They kept us up to date each step of the way with continued explanations. They were readily available for questions/concerns through the process. We would reach out to them again in the future for any legal concerns.
VERY COMMUNICATIVE AND VERY UNDERSTANDING
Beat Your DUI.
Keep Your License.