Driving Under The Influence (DUI) Frequently Asked Questions

What should I do after being arrested on suspicion of DUI, driving under the influence of drugs (DUID), driving while ability impaired (DWAI) or underage drinking?

Your first step should be to hire an attorney. Being charged with this type of crime can be frightening and confusing. For your best outcome, you need an aggressive DUI lawyer who knows the system. At Right Law Group, we can represent you for both the administrative process pertaining to your driver's license and the criminal court process.

Will I lose my driver's license?

Your driver's license will automatically be revoked unless you request an administrative hearing at the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Being granted driving rights depends on many factors, including what type of test you took and your reported blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level upon arrest. At Right Law Group, our approachable attorneys, Alexis Austin and Esohe Igbinedion can guide you through the complicated legal process to help keep or reinstate your driving privileges.

I refused the chemical test. What happens now?

If you refused to take the chemical test at the time of the arrest, you most likely will lose your driver's license for one year. However, you have the right to an administrative hearing through the DMV. The hearing will determine if the DMV has the right to revoke your license. If this is your situation, it is critical that you contact our attorneys at Right Law Group for legal representation.

Can I challenge the evidence in my DUI case?

Yes. If you were stopped unconstitutionally or questioned inappropriately by the arresting officer, we may be able to challenge the evidence, which could lead to a reduced or dismissed charge. Our attorneys have years of DUI criminal defense experience and understand how to analyze evidence. It is critical that you contact us immediately for strong representation.

This is not my first DUI. Will I go to jail?

If this is not your first DUI arrest, you could lose your driver's license for a long time. You could also get longer mandatory jail time and higher fines. A jail sentence can have dire implications for your future. If you are in jail or prison, you will not be able to work. That's why it is imperative to contact our knowledgeable DUI lawyers at Right Law Group. Based on the specifics of your arrest, we can address the charges and provide you with realistic legal expectations. Our criminal defense attorneys offer personalized attention with creative solutions — whether this is your first offense or third.

A breakdown of Colorado DUI charges and possible jail time is as follows:

  • First DUI offense —
    • 5 days–1 year in jail,
    • A fine of $600-$1,000,
    • Driver's license suspension of up to 9 months, and
    • 48-96 hours of community service.
  • Second DUI offense
    • 10 days–1 year in jail,
    • A fine of $600-$1,500,
    • Driver's license suspension of up to one year,
    • 48-120 hours of community service, and
    • Ignition interlock device for two years following license reinstatement.
  • Third DUI offense
    • 10 days–1 year in jail,
    • A fine of $600-$1,500,
    • Driver's license suspension of up to two years,
    • 48-120 hours of community service, and
    • Ignition interlock device for two years following license reinstatement.
  • Arrest with a BAC over .20 — mandatory minimum jail sentence
    • 10 days–1 year in jail,
    • A fine of $600-$1,500,
    • Driver's license suspension of up to one year,
    • 48-120 hours of community service, and
    • Ignition interlock device for two years following license reinstatement.
  • A fourth DUI/DWAI conviction — a felony punishable by considerably higher fines and more jail/prison time
    • A fine of $2,000 to $500,000,
    • Two to six years in Colorado state prison, and
    • Three years mandatory parole.

Whatever the charge, we will fight to keep you out of jail or prison. We can also advocate for an alternative sentence such as home detention or work release.

Call Now To Discuss Your DUI Defense Free Consultation

Being arrested on suspicion of DUI is upsetting and involves a complicated legal process. Let our experienced Colorado Springs DUI lawyer take the stress off and prepare a strong defense for you. Call our office at 719-822-2451 or  send us an email online for a free initial evaluation of your charge.

For more information, visit our blog.